The MTV Video Music Awards 2014

This morning I had the pleasure of checking out the red carpet pictures for the MTV Video Music Awards and I must say that I was slightly disappointed.  Musicians usually have a very interesting fashion sense with a little bit of edge and a lot of eclectic, but this year, it was quite tame. Lots of pretty pieces on some pretty people (a good portion of them I have no clue as to who they are), but not much risk taking.  As always, I will talk about the pieces I did like, the pieces I didn’t like and the ones I’m on the fence about. Let’s get started.

The first piece I really liked a lot was Beyonce’. Love the gown and she was totally wearing the proper undergarments underneath. Sexy, but covered up.  I may not always drink the Beyonce Kool Aid like a lot of her fans, but I am all about her in this!!!

Beyonce at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014

Beyonce at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014

The next one I liked a lot is Kelly Rowland. She is absolutely glowing here!!!! Love the gown and love her smile as always!!!! I hope that if this “Spinning Gold” movie takes off (the biopic about Neil Bogart and Casablanca Records, starring Justin Timberlake), she gets cast to play Donna Summer (sending it out to the universe).

Kelly Rowland at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Kelly Rowland at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Another look I liked a lot is Solange Knowles, Beyonce’s sister. Love that her style is so edgy!!!! Love the oversized blazer and the cropped pant!!!! This is the first bit of edge that I’ve seen on this red carpet and I would love to just hang with her and talk fashion!!!! Love her music as well!!!!

Solange Knowles at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Solange Knowles at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Another look I liked a lot and it surprised me, but it is quite glamorous for her and she may actually be the one to take some of the shine from her sister. It’s Kendall Jenner. Now that she is a model (see the most recent issue of Love Magazine), she is determined to make it on her own, without prejudging about her Kardashian namesakes. Although I would have loved a jacket on her, I do love this look!!!!

Kendall Jenner at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Kendall Jenner at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Another look I liked a lot is fashion model, Chanel Iman. I’ve always liked anything she wears. Her off duty looks are pretty tame, but when she’s working or turning up at an event, she always kicks it up a notch and she always looks like she’s having fun, so bravo to knocking it out the park again in this dress.

Chanel Iman at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Chanel Iman at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

The last look I like a lot comes from Rita Ora. Love the Hollywood glamour she’s putting forward. She just needed a POW bracelet to complete this femme fatale look!!!! LOVE IT!!!!!!

Rita Ora at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Rita Ora at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

 

Now here are the looks that I’m on the fence about. I either felt they were too tame or not right for the event, but they are amazing pieces. The first one is actress Chloe Grace Moretz. Love the top!!! Love the pants!!!! Don’t love them together. I would have opted for a different top with the pants and a POW belt!!!!

Chloe Grace Moretz at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Chloe Grace Moretz at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

The next one is Mary Lambert. Love the dress and it fits her well, but it needed a heel to work this event. Don’t get me wrong, I have no issue with a flats girl, but then your shoe needs to be the POW accessory. It looks too casual.

Mary Lambert at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Mary Lambert at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

The other look that I’m on the fence about is Kim Kardashian. Love the dress, but expected more from her. Serving up messy hair (is that still a trend??) and looking unhappy as all ever. This could be due to the angle or the sun in her eyes or the wind, but there isn’t much happiness here. Kim is usually a hit or miss on the red carpet, and although she’s playing it safe here, I’m missing some of the POW that she usually gives when on the carpet.

Kim Kardashian at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Kim Kardashian at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

 

Now here are the looks that I totally didn’t like. Let’s start off with Katy Perry and rapper, (from G’s To Gents contestant) Riff Raff. Now this may have been a joke (taking the piss out of Justin Timberlake and Britney Spears when they did this look), but this much denim on two people is just way too much!!! This may work at the CMA’s but this was not the least bit edgy. I have nothing against a denim gown, but I would have hacked this and made it shorter, letting it fray at the ends. Love Riff Raff’s swagger, though.

Katy Perry and rapper, Riff Raff at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Katy Perry and rapper, Riff Raff at the MTV Video Music Awards 2014.

Well, these are some of the looks I checked out from the red carpet. I wasn’t as mean as I thought I would be, but I was disappointed at how safe everyone looked.  Check it out and let me know what you think!!!!

 

Stay fashionable and sexy!!!!!

 

One thought on “The MTV Video Music Awards 2014

  1. Omg, i can see why you weren’t so impressed about the looks this year: they were majorly yawnsome, which just goes to show were music is now these days! Sorry to sound old, but helllooooo!! I mean WTF is Chloe wearing? Dress you age girl!! And Solange, I know you want to break type and not clash prints the whole time, but give me that -ish and not this Oh so cool but yawnsome tailored suit. I could go on….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

