American Hustle: My Love For The Costume Design

Image

Last night, I had the pleasure of checking out “American Hustle” starring Christian Bale, Amy Adams, Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, and Jeremy Renner.  This film is going to take the world by storm and it’s getting all kinds of accolades for the costume design and Christian Bale, Amy Adams, and Jennifer Lawrence were all nominated for Golden Globes.

The movie takes place in New York/New Jersey 1978 and it’s all about the scandal of politicians taking bribes.  Needless to say, in New Jersey that hasn’t changed.  The costume designer, Michael Wilkinson NAILED the looks on the head!!!  Usually when most 70’s styled period pieces are done, they go for the pretty, bright and sunny California 1970’s like “Boogie Nights” (which takes place in California of course), but this one rocks because this was really how the men and women in New York/New Jersey dressed.

The men’s looks were absolutely AMAZEBALLS!!!!! Houndstooth and glen plaid trench coats and suits, western inspired tweeds (which are usually associated with the British upper class country side), striped and patterned shirts with ascots, big velvet bow ties (I love those and I had one as a kid), and boldly patterned shirts.  This film took me back to my childhood in New York City!!!! This was the period of glamour for me!!!!

Image

Image

Image

The women’s looks were glam ALL THE WAY!!!!!! Low cut silk blouses, leather and suede dresses and skirts, Diane Von Furstenberg wrap dresses, and jumpsuits!!!! All of these looks reminded me of my mom at that time when I was growing up, because she wore all of these things when she either went to work or went out with friends.  These were the things that sparked my interest in fashion design. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

You also know that I can’t talk about this movie without hitting on the music.  All of the music used, really set the tone for everything!!! All of the songs played in the movie were things you couldn’t escape hearing back then from either everyone’s cars or apartments.  All of these pieces were all timeless (Wings- Live And Let Die, Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes- Don’t Leave Me This Way, Elton John- Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, and the ultimate moment for me, Donna Summer- I Feel Love) and I remember them in CONSTANT rotation at my house as a kid.

Image

I applaud the cast for doing an amazing job in this film. I recommend that you should go see it!!!! I also applaud the costume designer, Michael Wilkinson for really pulling out all of the stops in getting the looks just right for the time (Halston, Gucci, Fiorucci was all I thought about when watching this film) and touching a part of my childhood that I’ve always been enamored by!!!! I hope to be as great as you are!!!!!

Image

http://www.fabsugar.com/American-Hustle-Movie-Costumes-Video-32662342

http://www.wwd.com/fashion-news/fashion-features/do-the-hustle-70s-fashion-comes-to-the-big-screen

Stay fashionable and sexy!!!!!

One thought on “American Hustle: My Love For The Costume Design

Leave a Reply

