The American Music Awards

Last night in America was one of the big music award shows, The American Music Awards.  It’s usually and interesting night, however as of late it has been used as a ratings catcher for ABC (Channel 7 in NY).  It used to come on a month before the Grammys (which come on in February), but now it comes right before or during the holidays (this time it’s before Thanksgiving, other times it was before Christmas).  Either way, I can’t let an awards show go by without talking about the red carpet.

Musicians have a completely different sense of style than the Hollywood actors and actresses, so this should be quite interesting.  I will tell you what I liked, what I’m on the fence about and what I didn’t like.  Let’s get started.

The first look that I liked a lot and surprised the hell out of me was Ke$ha.  Girlfriend cleans up nice and she served up the glamour!!! I haven’t always liked what she’s worn at other award shows, but this is perfect for her and it stunned me!!!! Love that she is serving up some leg!!!!!

Ke$ha

Ke$ha

Ke$ha

Ke$ha

Ke$ha

Ke$ha

The next look I love a lot is Christina Aguilera.  She is another one that surprises me because she would also wear things that I don’t really like to some award shows.  She hit’s the mark with something sexy and not sleazy.  She also looks much happier.

Christina Aguilera

Christina Aguilera

Christina Aguilera

Christina Aguilera

Christina Aguilera

Christina Aguilera

Christina Aguilera

Christina Aguilera

This is Jennifer Hudson.  Love the short hair and LOVE LOVE LOVE the dress!!!  This is quite edgy for her and totally unexpected.  AWESOME!!!!

Jennifer Hudson

Jennifer Hudson

Jennifer Hudson

Jennifer Hudson

Jennifer Hudson

Jennifer Hudson

Another look that I liked a lot and also surprised me was Katy Perry.  Very subdued for her, but very pretty.  She still has the cartoonish persona but it grew up a little bit.  Love it!!!!

Katy Perry

Katy Perry

Katy Perry

Katy Perry

Naya Rivera is another look I liked a lot.  The gown was glamorous and sexy and she kept it simple with gold accessories.  Sold the look to me completely. Even I want this dress!!!! (I may make my own!!!!)

Naya Rivera

Naya Rivera

Naya Rivera

Naya Rivera

Naya Rivera

Naya Rivera

Now, here are the looks that I’m on the fence about.  It may have been about fit issues, color or even the overall look didn’t work for the occasion.  The first look is Sarah Silverman.  Love the dress, but for some reason (it could have been the angle) the dress looked like it didn’t fit well (mostly around the bust line).

Sarah Silverman

Sarah Silverman

Sarah Silverman

Sarah Silverman

Another dress with fit issues was Emma Roberts.  Love the dress, but it always looked like it was on the verge of falling off.

Emma Roberts

Emma Roberts

Emma Roberts

Emma Roberts

Emma Roberts

Emma Roberts

Kelly Osbourne’s dress was beautiful. I would have loved it more if it didn’t have sleeves. The sleeves just didn’t do it for me. If it were cap sleeved or no sleeves, I would love this look.

Kelly Osbourne

Kelly Osbourne

Kelly Osbourne

Kelly Osbourne

Now here are some looks I totally didn’t like. I’m not gonna be nice about these at all.  First up is Kylie Jenner.  Being from a somewhat fashionable family, I expected more.  I don’t get this thing of going on a red carpet and not making an effort.  Did we catch her going to the supermarket or gas station??? Kylie, you’ve shown up at openings of bathrooms looking better than this!!! Love the hair though.

Kylie Jenner

Kylie Jenner

Kylie Jenner

Kylie Jenner

Next one is Phoebe Price.  Beautiful woman, but had WAY TOO MUCH going on in her look.  This looks like a mish mash of things and it’s all fighting for attention.  If you’re gonna work the hat, change the dress.  If you’re gonna wear the dress, ditch the hat.

Phoebe Price

Phoebe Price

Next up is Lil Mama.  This would look AMAZEBALLS in a sci fi movie.  Great job playing Left Eye in the TLC movie.  Not so great trying to be Left Eye on the red carpet.  The effect of an eccentric, otherworldly look is that you can’t look like you tried too hard. Eccentric artists throw things on  whether they work or not and their style makes it work.  This is a trying too hard moment, that was just horrible.

Lil Mama

Lil Mama

Lil Mama

Lil Mama

Lil Mama

Lil Mama

Then there is the other Jenner daughter (Kenya, Kendra, I know it’s a K name).  This look blew my mind in the worst way. I don’t know what corner she came off of to go to the American Music Awards, but whatever rapper/producer/athlete that picked her up, please take her back there!!!! The dress seemed way too short and way too tight. If it were slightly longer, I would have liked it more.

K. Jenner

K. Jenner

K. Jenner

K. Jenner

Well, these are the looks I liked and didn’t like from the American Music Awards.  Let me see what you think.

Stay fashionable and sexy!!!!!

Leave a Reply

