Window Shopping In London

Yesterday, I had the pleasure hitting the streets of London and watching all of the stores prepare for Christmas.

Christmas is the biggest time in retail all over the world.  Being that this will be my first Christmas in London (WOO HOO!!!), I took some time to head to the biggest department stores and take some shots of their gorgeous windows.  All of the windows were fun, fascinating and very inspiring.  They inspired the designer in me as well as the visual merchandiser in me.  Some pieces were glamorous and some pieces were quite edgy, but none of them disappointed and they managed to tick all of the boxes in getting their best stuff in the windows to create the stories.

I went to Selfridge’s, Harrod’s and Harvey Nichols and loved all three sets of windows.  This is what I loved about visual merchandising: creating the story, prepping the windows, getting the sets and the clothes together and working all night to reveal the most amazing show early in the morning and seeing those first looks by people running to go to work, slowing down to take it all in and smiling.  This makes the Christmas season so much fun. I can overlook the crazy crowds, wonky store hours, bitchy sales associates and Gestapo security guards watching my every move and ignoring the real shoplifters.  Let’s get started….

The first store that I went to was Selfridge’s.  Their windows was SO MUCH FUN!!!!! Totally a white Christmas with all the things you want for Christmas, including DISCO BALLS!!!!! I love disco balls!!!!!! My favorite was the “Barbie” window.  Here are a few shots here:

The "Barbie" window at Selfridge's.  SO MUCH FUN!!!!!!

The “Barbie” window at Selfridge’s. SO MUCH FUN!!!!!!

061 062 063 064 065 066 067 068 069

070 071

Here are the rest of the windows.  They were all so much fun!!!!

074 075 076 077 078 079 080 081 082 083 084 086

My favorite pic of the Balenciaga trainer/sneaker!!!!! I need these in my life!!!!!

My favorite pic of the Balenciaga trainer/sneaker!!!!! I need these in my life!!!!!

088

The next place I went to was Harrod’s.  This is a store that you can’t be in London without seeing it.  It is the most amazing and glamorous place and the windows were no exception!!!  This is a store that I will go to when I’m having a bad day and looking for a glamorous fashion fix.  The theme was all about a train (glamorous “Strangers On A Train”, perhaps???) and it was absolutely STUNNING!!!! This is one window, I wish I had a hand in creating!!!!! Here are the shots:

097 098 099 100 101 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 111 113 114 115 116 117 119 120 123 124 125 126 127 129 130 132 133 134 135 136

The last windows I got to check out was Harvey Nichols. These windows were quite edgy and young and something that a fashion student, heavily involved in music, be it rock, electronic dance music,  or the more underground rap would love!!! These windows were an explosion of color, pattern, print and in my eyes, sound.  The windows all looked like music videos!!! LOVED IT!!!!!! Here are the shots:

143 144 145 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163

Well, this was my view of window shopping in London, during the Christmas season.  All of these windows were just AMAZEBALLS (yeah, I said it) and all of them were very special and inspirational.  I hope to meet in my travels the visual merchandisers that put these windows together, just to tell them how AWESOME they were!!!! Let me know what you think!!!

Stay fashionable and sexy!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Window Shopping In London

Leave a Reply

